# Curtin Association of Medical Students



## CAMS 2022 SGM

Special General Meeting held in 2021 to hear speeches from the 2022 Committee Nominees.

When 25-10-2021 at 20:30

Location: Curtin Medical School, Building, 410 Koorliny Way, Bentley WA 6102, Australia

Chairperson Vivek Velaga

Minute Katherine Qiu taker

Present Vivek Velaga

## Minutes

## 1. Attendance

All 2021 and 2022 CAMS Executives present. 2021 Committee present. ~30 Ordinary CAMS members present

## 2. 2022 Committee Welcome

## 3. Acknowledgement of Country

## 4. Speeches for the position of Academic Director

Speeches by Aayaz Alam, Suhasi Patel and Danny McGurgan presented for ~2 mins each.

Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Danny McGurgan was elected by majority vote.

## 5. Speeches for the position of Socials Director

Speeches by Grace Anwar and Jack Atherton presented for ~2 mins each.

## Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Grace Anwar was elected by majority vote.

## 6. Speeches for the position of Equity Director

Speeches by Maysam Al Asedy and Keshna Jeyandrabalan presented for ~2 mins each.

## Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Maysam Al Asedy was elected by majority vote.

## 7. Announcement of AMSA Representative

## Decision

Kurtis Gray was elected unopposed

## 8. Speeches for the position of Merchandise Director

Speeches by Thu Huynh and Vivek Velaga presented for ~2 mins each.

## Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Vivek Velaga was elected by majority vote.

## 9. Announcement of Sports Director

## Decision

Jack Jennings was elected unopposed.

## 10. Announcement of Year 5 Representatives

#### Decision

Nathan Danh and Crsytal Vong were elected unopposed.

## 11. Announcement of Year 4 Representative (1/2)

### Decision

Rahil Ajmera was elected unopposed as the Year 4 Male Representative.

## 12. Speeches for Year 4 Representative (1/2)

Speeches by Sayalee Tak, Nikita Bhatt and Michelle Han presented for ~2 mins each.

## Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Sayalee Tak was elected by majority vote.

## 13. Announcement of Year 3 Representatives

## Decision

Aayush Dhawan and Halimah Zaini were elected unopposed.

## 14. Speeches for the position of Mental Health & Wellbeing Representative

Speeches by Sophie Hogan and Ellen Gamble presented for ~2 mins each.

#### Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Ellen Gamble was elected by majority vote.

## 15. Announcement of IT Director

#### Decision

Sabiqul Hoque was elected unopposed

## 16. Announcement of Media & Publications Director

#### Decision

Sonaa Aneja was elected based on completed publications task.

## 17. Announcement of Year 2 Representatives

## Decision

Anonymous ballot was conducted and Priyal Patel & Sam Wende were elected by majority vote.

18. Announcement of Gender Rights Representative and Graduation Convenor

## Decision

Mia McCluskey was elected unopposed

## 19. Announcement of Indigenous Representative

## Decision

Ellen Engelke was elected unopposed.

## 20. Announcement of Vampire Cup Representative

## Decision

Nelithma Desilva was elected by majority vote from the 2021 Vampire Cup Representative and 2022 CAMS Executives

## 21. Announcement of the Queer Identities Representative

## Decision

Le-Anne Nguyen was elected unopposed

## 22. Announcement of Gala Ball Convenors

## Decision

Sian Turbutt and Reshma Samuel were elected unopposed.

## 23. Voting Link Released

*End of minutes. Summary of matters arising are tabled on the following page.* 

# Minutes of CAMS 2022 SGM on 25-10-2021

# Summary of Matters Arising

## Decisions 众

ltem	Decision
4.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Danny McGurgan was elected by majority vote.
5.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Grace Anwar was elected by majority vote.
6.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Maysam Al Asedy was elected by majority vote.
7.	Kurtis Gray was elected unopposed
8.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Vivek Velaga was elected by majority vote.
9.	Jack Jennings was elected unopposed.
10.	Nathan Danh and Crsytal Vong were elected unopposed.
11.	Rahil Ajmera was elected unopposed as the Year 4 Male Representative.
12.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Sayalee Tak was elected by majority vote.
13.	Aayush Dhawan and Halimah Zaini were elected unopposed.
14.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Ellen Gamble was elected by majority vote.
15.	Sabiqul Hoque was elected unopposed
16.	Sonaa Aneja was elected based on completed publications task.
17.	Anonymous ballot was conducted and Priyal Patel & Sam Wende were elected by majority vote.
18.	Mia McCluskey was elected upopposed

## Item Decision

- 19. Ellen Engelke was elected unopposed.
- 20. Nelithma Desilva was elected by majority vote from the 2021 Vampire Cup Representative and 2022 CAMS Executives
- 21. Le-Anne Nguyen was elected unopposed
- 22. Sian Turbutt and Reshma Samuel were elected unopposed.